WSOP Europe (WSOPE) 2010 Begins Today

Today, Tuesday 14th September 2010, is the beginning of one of the most prestigious European poker events – the World Series of Poker Europe (WSOPE) sponsored by BetFair – one of the best UK poker sites. This is the fourth year that the event has taken place and many of the worlds best poker players will be travelling to London to take their seats at the Empire Casino in Leicester Square where there are five bracelets up for grabs as well as millions in prize money!

WSOPE 2010 Schedule

Event #1: £2,500 Six Handed No Limit Hold’em Tue 14 Sep – Thu 16 Sep
Event #2: £5,000 Pot Limit Omaha Thu 16 Sep – Sat 18 Sep
Event #3: £1,000 No Limit Hold’em Fri 17 Sep – Tue 21 Sep
Event #4: £10,000 No Limit Hold’em High Roller Heads-Up Tue 21 Sep – Thu 23 Sep
Event #5: £10,000 WSOPE Championship No Limit Hold’em Thu 23 Sep – Tue 28 Sep

This is the first year there has been five bracelets up for grabs at the World Series of Poker Europe. In 2007 there was only three awarded and in 2008 and 2009 there was four awarded. Here is more details on previous winners of WSOPE bracelets:

WSOPE 2007 Bracelet Winners

Thomas Bihl (£2,500 H.O.R.S.E.) won £70,875

Dario Alioto (£5,000 Pot Limit Omaha) won £234,390

Annette Obrestad (£10,000 Main Event) won £1,000,000

WSOPE 2008 Bracelet Winners

Jesper Hougaard (£1500 No Limit) won £144,218

Sherkhan Farnood (£2,500 H.O.R.S.E.) won £76,999

Theo Jorgensen (£5,000 Pot Limit Omaha) won £218,626

John Juanda (£10,000 Main Event) won £868,800

WSOPE 2009 Bracelet Winners

J.P. Kelly (£1,000 No Limit Hold’em) won £136,803

Eric Cajelais (£2,500 Pot Limit Hold’em/Pot Limit Omaha) won £104,677

Jani Vilmunen (£5,000 Pot Limit Omaha) won £204,408

Barry Shulman (£10,000 Main Event) won £801,603

Stay tuned to for reports from the event and info on the winners.