Norm MacDonald to Host High Stakes Poker

High Stakes PokerSeason 7 of the cash poker TV show “High Stakes Poker” is scheduled to go on air later this month. It is reported that Norm MacDonald, comedian and poker player, will be the new host of the show offering commentary on the gaming action. Norm MacDonald who is also known for his appearances on the “Saturday Night Live” show in the mid 1990’s is a keen poker player and has participated in World Series of Poker events and charity poker tournaments. Following the departure of host Gabe Kaplan, MacDonald will be taking over the reins of the show, together with co-host Kara Scott.

The seventh season of this “High Stakes Poker” contest takes place at the Bellagio Casino and Hotel in Las Vegas and will be shown using innovative 3D technology. The first show of the new season will be broadcast on Saturday 26th February at 8pm ET on GSN.  The program will air on Saturday evenings and then each Sunday at 11pm ET the broadcast will be shown again for anyone that missed the first show. Series number 7 of the show presents a minimum buy-in of $200,000 and a $500,000 maximum buy-in.

This season of exciting high stakes poker action features a gathering of poker pros and six amateur players. The line-up includes three past winners the World Series of Poker Main Event, that are Doyle Brunson, Johnny Chan and the current champion, Jonathan Duhamel, fresh from his win in November 2010. Poker pros Doyle Brunson, Daniel Negreanu and Barry Greenstein are appearing in this gaming series for the seventh time and therefore could be called regulars. Johnny Chan will be making a second appearance, while Jonathan Duhamel will be appearing and trying his hand for the first time.  It is interesting to note that Vanessa Selbst will be only the third female to participate in “High Stakes Poker” in the show’s history.

The full list of participating players in season 7 of “High Stakes Poker”, presented by PokerStars, is as follows:

Mike Baxter
Eric Boneta
Doyle Brunson
Johnny Chan
Robert Croak
Jonathan Duhamel
Antonio Esfandiari
Phil Galfond
Bill Klein
Phil Laak
Jason Mercier
Julian Movsesian
Daniel Negreanu
David Peat
Bill Perkins
Andrew Robl
Phil Ruffin
Vanessa Selbst
Bob Voulgaris

Look out for “High Stakes Poker” at 8pm ET on Saturday, 26th February.