Jason DeWitt Leads 2011 WPT LA Poker Classic

Jason DeWitt Day 3 of the LA Poker Classic $10,000 Main Event saw 239 players return to the felt at Commerce Casino. By the end of the day’s play, that field was narrowed down to just 63 players.

The LA Poker Classic always attracts a tough field, and of the 63 players who survived the day, few of them are amateur players. Looking at the top ten overall chip leaders, it consists entirely of full time poker pros, and there is nearly a dozen WSOP bracelet winners in the field, one of whom has the leading chip stack with over a million chips – Jason DeWitt who won a WSOP bracelet last year.

He played at the same table as Allen Cunningham on Day 3, and the two were involved in numerous big pots. In the end, DeWitt ended up on top, and Cunningham finished the day with an above average stack of 375,000.

Some well-known players exited the tournament through no choice of their own, including Phil Hellmuth, Jason Mercier, Mike Matusow, Phil Ivey, Kara Scott, and Barry Greenstein.

On Day 3 the tournament structure required that the play continued until it reached the money, which resulted in a long drawn out affair, which went on for two hours of play without seeing an elimination. It ended up coming down to a cooler hand where Hoyt Corkins picked up pocket queens against Mike Sowers’ pocket kings, which sent Corkins to the rail and brought Day 3 to an end.

Michael ‘The Grinder’ Mizrachi won Season II of the WPT LA Poker Classic, however, sitting with around 10 big blinds heading into Day 4, it’s going to be a tough ask to repeat it again.

Other notable players returning for Day 4 include David “Bakes” Baker, Carlos Mortensen, Sam Stein, Jason Senti, Steve Gross, Lauren Kling, Tim West, Daniel Alaei, Scott Seiver, and Joe Hachem.

With everyone now in the money, all of the players is already guaranteed a $22230 payday. Play will commence at 1:30PM local time on Day 4. Here are the top ten chip counts heading into Day 4:

1.    Jason DeWitt – 1,023,000
2.    Richard Toth – 993,000
3.    James Carroll – 843,000
4.    David “Bakes” Baker – 702,000
5.    Mike Sowers – 677,000
6.    Shannon Shorr – 655,000
7.    Matt Berkey – 625,000
8.    Darryll Fish- 595,000
9.    Nikolay Evdakov – 583,000
10.   Carlos Mortensen – 557,000