2011 NBC Heads-Up Championship Announced

2011 NBC Heads-up ChampionshipThe 2011 NBC Heads Up Poker Championship will be held next month between March 3rd to March 6th at Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas. The tournament is in its seventh year and always features an impressive line-up of celebrities and the best professional poker players in the world.

With a $25,000 buy-in for this special head-to-head tournament format, it will create a $1.8 million prize pool with $750,000 going to the eventual winner.

The official sponsor of the prestigious NBC Heads-Up tournament is GoDaddy.com and they will be hosting a party for random players chosen from Day 1 of the field, to join them for a party at PURE Nightclub in Las Vegas.

Many of the well-known poker pros will be seen at the tables, including Phil Ivey, Patrik Antonius, Phil Hellmuth, Doyle Brunson, Chris Ferguson, Daniel Negreanu, Erik Seidel, Barry Greenstein, Phil Laak, Michael Mizrachi, Tom Dwan, Gus Hansen, Howard Lederer, Antonio Esfandiari, Mike Matusow, and others.

There will also be several NBC Heads-Up veterans live in the action, including Eli Elezra, Gavin Smith, Erick Lindgren, David Williams, Allen Cunningham, Ted Forrest, Jason Mercier, Johnny Chan, and John Juanda, all making an appearance. Of course, the GoDaddy Girl Vanessa Rousso will also be battling it out on the felt.

Many celebrities not from the poker world will also be found in the action, including Seinfeld’s Jason Alexander, Don Cheadle, Gabe Kaplan and Jennifer Tilly.

Players who will be playing their debut event for the NBC Heads-Up event, include  2010 WSOP Main Event champion Jonathan Duhamel, CardPlayer and Bluff Magazine Player of the Year winners Tom Marchese and Sorel Mizzi, EPT San Remo winner Liv Boeree, and 2010 WSOP Main Event runner-up John Racener. The head-to-head format of the event will be something new and interesting for these players.

Some other very talented players will also be playing at the NBC Heads-Up tournament, including the WSOP Player of the Year Frank Kassela, PCA High Roller champ Eugene Katchalov, and online high-stakes cash game pros Phil”OMGClayAiken” Galfond and Dan “Jungleman12” Cates.

Leeann Tweeden will serve as the reporter to cover all the coverage for all of the tournament play, and the commentary once again will be with Craig Hummer and Ali Nejad.